Diagnosing Eating Disorders

This course defines eating disorders as portrayed in DSM-5 and the ICD-10 with various characteristics, diagnoses, co-morbidities, and differential diagnoses acted-out in scenarios with reference to the diagnostic numbering scheme of the ICD-10.

About this course

Food plays an important role in our society - it offers an opportunity to socialise with one's community, brings pleasure through different smells and tastes, and most importantly provides nourishment. However, for individuals dealing with an eating disorder, the benefits of food can become overshadowed by fear, shame, or incapacitating malnourishment. Because both food and eating are such critical aspects of our culture and our survival, these disorders may lead to functional impairment in every facet of an individual's life. Eating disorders are grouped together in the DSM-5 and ICD-10 due to their shared characteristics of disturbances in eating or behaviour associated with eating, which causes significant physical or psychological distress. This course examines the common eating disorders of anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge-eating disorder, as well as the less common disorders of pica, avoidant-restrictive food intake disorder, and rumination disorder. Some notes are made with regard to differential diagnosis. <p>&nbsp;</p> <b>DSM-5-TR update:</b> While this video discusses mental conditions in terms of how the diagnosis would be treated in the DSM-5, the current iteration of the DSM is the DSM-5-TR. However, the clinical material discussed in this video is still current.
Duration 1 hour
Format video
Type introductory
Price Included with Membership
Writer / Presenter Alexander Street Press

Sign up to Australia’s most popular educational newsletter for mental health professionals